Barbecue Chicken Pizza Pinwheels

June for a teacher is a lot like a hurricane. It’s a whirlwind of finishing content, cramming in field trips, keeping my students from entering Summer Mode just yet, and fitting in all of the “hey, it’s nice outside!” obligations that come with the approach of summer (like the dockside bar that opened its second floor with swings!!! as seating!!!) that crop up out of nowhere.

And thus, no posts for a few. Forgive me, friends.

In a moment of downtime, I browsed for more recipes and lo, there it was. My new favorite recipe: barbecue chicken pinwheels.

This comes from Yellow Bliss Road and it’s delightful. What else am I to do with refrigerated pizza dough and leftover red onion?

Barbecue Chicken Pizza Pinwheels

Ingredients

  • 1 can Refrigerated Crescents or Pizza Dough
  • 1/4 cup your favorite barbecue sauce
  • 3/4 cup shredded Cheddar-Jack Cheese
  • 1 cup shredded cooked chicken
  • 1/4 cup diced red onion
  • 1 tablespoon chopped cilantro (optional)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cover a cookie sheet with foil and spray lightly with cooking spray.
  2. Lightly flour a large wooden cutting board. Roll out dough onto the floured surface, pressing seems together as you go.
  3. Spread barbecue sauce evenly over the dough, to the edges.
  4. Top with shredded cheese, chicken, onions and cilantro.
  5. Roll pizza and seal the and slice into 1 inch pieces. *Roll width-wise (the longest side) for smaller pinwheels, and length-wise (the shortest side) for larger pinwheels.
  6. Place pinwheels on the prepared cookie sheet, about 2 inches apart.
  7. Bake at 350 degrees for about 9-11 minutes, or until the tops are golden brown.
  8. Allow to cool for a couple of minutes then serve with barbecue ranch dipping sauce (1 part bottled barbecue sauce, 1 part bottled ranch dressing).

 

Holy yum, you guys. These were just like a barbecue chicken pizza (not as weird as it sounds) and they were incredible.

Pro-tip #1: sub where you need it. I didn’t buy a rotisserie chicken (WHAT!?) for the first time in a long time, so I had to make my own. Whattttttt. So I defrosted some chicken breasts–bone-in, apparently–and threw them into the slow cooker with some barbecue sauce and spices. Why not? More easily shredable that way. AND it was barbecued already. Nailed it.

Pro-tip #2: try not to eat these all at once. I can neither confirm nor deny how I know this….

I like the concept of pizza, don’t get me wrong, but I don’t like the calories and all that cheese. This was the right amount of everything. I also haven’t had barbecue chicken pizza in roughly 456 years, so this was a nice treat!

xoA

Leave a comment